Skip to content

Cry of the Wilders: My Game for Game Chef 2014

May 18, 2014

The theme for 2014 was “There is No Book”, so I used the opportunity to explore the use of audio to explain a game. I wanted to emulate what happens in actual face-to-face sessions – usually only one person has read the game’s book, and then they teach it to the other players. So why not skip the book entirely and get to that core stuff?  That’s what my humble attempt here was about.

The game comes in three files, one audio drama that presents the game’s setting, one play sheet with a summary of the rules, and another audio file of me explaining the rules to some friends.  Here are the links:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B9Pwq-FbdThtYWFCeTJ0U0ZoRW8/view?usp=sharing – this is a shorter version of the audio drama that introduces the setting of the game.  Yes, it’s a bit choppy and amateurish, but it was all a labor of love done under a short time constraint; it gets the job done, I hope.  Everyone who acted in it volunteered and gave generously of their time, my deep gratitude to them.

(https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B9Pwq-FbdThtNUM4Q3phM0ZBWWs/edit?usp=sharing – this is the longer audio intro; skip it, it’s a bit too long)

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B9Pwq-FbdThtRlU4MzkwdzBRRHc/edit?usp=sharing – two-sided play sheet with a summary of the rules

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B9Pwq-FbdThtek9meDNMQ1NFQms/view?usp=sharing – audio explanation of the rules with Q&A from my play group. Listen to this while looking at the play summary sheet, above.

The audio files are mp3s, the play sheet is a Word document.  Let me know your impressions – do you like the setting? Does the game system seem like something you’d like to try? I’d love to hear whatever you’d like to share!

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. bringerofpeace permalink

    For those unaware of the motivation, this year’s game chef theme was “There is no book”, and the ingredients were glitter, absorb, wild, and sickle. I used the theme on every level, from presentation – there is no book, just audio and a play sheet – to the setting (it’s the rebel cry), to the game mechanics (in both resolution and as a meta-mechanic). The ingredients I included in the setting and the rules were glitter, wild, and sickle.

  2. bringerofpeace permalink

    I just recently came back to this; I received a couple of rather vicious reviews during Game Chef so was a bit discouraged (I often tend to focus too much on the negative I think) but now on reading and listening to it again I wonder whether it might actually be halfway decent and at least have some potential. I’d sure like to hear from others!

Leave a Reply

